Wellness from Within: Turmeric

Recently I posted a question on my Facebook Liza Zeni page to see how many of you would be interested in a weekly post about health, wellbeing, diet, nutrition, great recipes, links to others with knowledge in these areas.  The response was fantastic, so here I am with the very first one.

Today is all about the beautiful Indian spice Turmeric.  A wonderfully powerful, natural healing spice.  It’s yellow colour is produced from its main ingredient Curcumin, which is a fabulous anti-inflammatory and antioxidant.  Turmeric has many health benefits and is still being researched today with scientists exploring its amazing properties.  It protects our livers from toxins, assists in reducing cholesterol, improves protein digestion, decongests the liver, increases ligament flexibility, fights cancer, reduces menstrual pain, and is antibacterial and anti-fungal.  

Turmeric can be used fresh or dried.  My preference is definitely fresh.  It has a lovely warming, slightly bitter flavour and an interesting citrus scent which smells a little like fresh orange zest and ginger.  Fresh turmeric when mixed with coconut oil is even said to heal wounds or improve the appearance of scars.  Store fresh turmeric by wiping it dry, wrap an absorbent towel around it and place in an airtight container in the fridge.  Ground turmeric shouldn’t be stored for more than about 6 months as it will start to lose its potency and become very bitter. 

I just love using turmeric.  I actually cooked with fresh turmeric last night and the whole family, even fussy lil Flynn ate every last mouthful of a lovely fragrant chicken pilaf.  I am often in the kitchen making things up as I go, so I will have to write this recipe out, test it again, photograph it, and post it for you all soon.  In the mean time I am always heading over to Heidi Swanson’s website 101 Cookbooks for inspiration, recipes and nutritional information.  Heidi is based in San Francisco and I can’t even remember now where I first stumbled across her, but I am in love with her recipes and food philosophy.  I have two of her books now; Super Natural Cooking and Super Natural Everyday.  So I thought today I’d share this recipe of hers with you today for Red Lentil Soup which has a lovely healthy dose of turmeric in it.  This is it pictured above (photo courtesy of 101 Cookbooks by Heidi Swanson) and just how delicious does that look?!  It’s absolutely yummy and warms your insides so beautifully.

I also wanted to say a big thank-you for all the wonderful & positive feedback to my first Vlog and I look forward to sharing many more with you.  Also for those who were asking about my Etsy store and when it will be re-stocked, I will be putting items in there gradually over the coming weeks and have it up and completely re-stocked by the end of this month.  Woohoo, I am very excited about putting new items and originals in my little store.  Previously I’ve only had prints. 

Seeds Sewn, Beginnings Grown” will also be available exclusively from my Etsy store.  It was previously available from Duckfat, however they are now focusing their strengths on furniture and lighting as they’ve had a strong opening demand for these items.

Enjoy!

Liza xxx

10 thoughts on “Wellness from Within: Turmeric

  1. Thanks for your first cooking installation Liza! You are really inspiring me to get in to cooking!! A massive change for me who usually just turns my nose up to it hahaha Can’t wait to get my own kitchen so we can start the cooking lessons “) Aram xo

    • Aram, I love your screen name (o” Yay so glad to hear that you are enjoying this and more so that you are inspired to cook, yay, that’s what this is all about for me (o: sharing with others to inspire them, yay you’ve made my day thank-you. And I’ll definitely help you out with cooking lessons, that would be my pleasure! xxx

    • Hi Josephine, (o: yay definitely give it a go and I’ll be sharing my chicken pilaf recipe next week too, the kids will love it! Thanks for your beautiful friendship and your encouragement xxx

Leave a Reply

